Adding Network Printers in Windows Vista

Question:
“I have two local printers on my Windows XP machine. And I wanted to connect them to my Windows Vista laptop via router network. When I tried to add a network printer through Control Panel of Windows Vista, I got an error message: ” Windows Cannot Connect To The Printer. Access Is Denied” What should I do?”

Cause:
I don’t really know.

Solution:
Try to add the remote printer as a local printer, NOT a network printer. I don’t know why it is so, but that will work!

Step 1: Go to Control Panel. Choose printer. Then choose Add Printer.

Step2: Choose Add a local printer. Click on Create a new port. The default in the drop down box is Local Port. Do not change that. Click Next.

Step 3: A dialogue box will appear asking for you to enter a port name. Type in the \computer nameprinter name. (In my case, the computer name is the name of my XP machine).

Step 4: You will get a request for the appropriate driver, if it’s not on the available list, go to the manufacturer’s website and download the necessary driver.

Step 5: Print a test page. Done!

