Problem with search engines, and the <meta name=”robots” content=”noindex,nofollow” /> tag case.

Question:
We have a WordPress site. When I search the keywords, the site can be seen on small datacenters but not the main datacenter. So, we suspected that there’s something wrong with our site. When I do a command search (site:sitename), all the page have the same metas (title, description, keywords) eventhough I use the All-in-one SEO Pack Plug-in. 

I did a view source and found this: 
<meta name=”robots” content=”noindex,nofollow” /> 
but when I checked the header.php file, there’s no code similar on this one. I deactivated the All-in-one SEO Pack Plug-in but it still the same. 

Answer:
Sometimes a big problem is caused by a small mistake. I had this problem too, and for a few weeks my site has completely fallen off Google and other search engines’ results. The mistake was very easy to fix however, it’s just the matter of setting the visibility of your blog.

In your WordPress blog’s admin panel, go to:
Settings –> Privacy –> Change Blog Visibility to “I would like my blog to be visible to everyone, including search engines (like Google, Sphere, Technorati) and archivers”

This will remove the meta tag from the source code.

Solution originally posted by cphadley on Sep 10th 2008 at http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=882978

One Trackback

  1. […] About « Problem with search engines, and the <meta name=”robots” content=”noindex,nofol… […]

