Meta Tag Generator

The use of meta tags in web pages are often required by search engines as a source of information to help them to decide how to list and rank your website. Meta Tags are not always required, but as a rule of thumb, it makes more sense to take advantage of them than to leave them out.

It is a simple process to add Meta Tags to web pages. Use the free Meta Tag Generator.

Example:

<head>

<title>"Nicholas, you are ridiculous!" by Olena Kassian</title>

<meta name="description" content="“Nicholas, you are ridiculous!” is a wonderful children's picture book about the ridiculous antics of a Japanese Shiba Inu puppy, illustrated by internationally recognized artist Olena Kassian. Follow Nicholas, the Shiba Inu puppy, on a day's romp! Nicholas is a rascal based on Olena Kassian's own Shiba Inu, absurd, mischievous,and utterly charming.">

<meta name="keywords" content="Olena Kassian, children's picture book, Japanese, Shiba Inu, puppy, Nicholas you are ridiculous, dog story, yoga dogs, yoga dogs illustrated, yoga dog cards">

<meta name="copyright" content="Design and Coding Copyright ©2009 My Graphic Friend. All rights reserved.">

<meta name="author" content="My Graphic Friend">

<meta name="email" content="gnocchi@mygraphicfriend.com">

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

<meta name="Distribution" content="Global">

<meta name="Rating" content="General">

<meta name="Robots" content="INDEX,FOLLOW">

<meta name="Revisit-after" content="1 Day">

</head>

1. Page Title

The Page Title is probably THE most important attribute for search engine rankings. The Page Title should contain a coherent description of the page, and should contain words that are located within the page content.

2. Description Meta Tag

The Description Meta Tag should contain a coherent description of the page, and should contain words that are located within the page content.

3. Keywords Meta Tag

For best results, select 12 of the most popular and relevant keywords to that particular page, ideally keyword phrases of 2 to 3 words, separated by a comma. Ensure that the keywords you use are located in the title, description and content of the page. If they are not, DO NOT add extra words, otherwise the theme of your page will be watered down. The ordering also plays a role, make sure you order the keywords in order of importance. The 1st being the most important. Use the Trellian keyword research and search term suggestion tool, it is crucial in identifying what search terms to use.

3. Copyright Meta Tag

The Copyright Meta Tag is used to indicate that your information is copy righted.

(i.e. Design and Coding Copyright ©2009 My Graphic Friend. All rights reserved.)

4. Author Meta Tag

The Author Meta Tag is used to insert a name of the webmaster or company.

5. Email Meta Tag

The email us used to display the relevant contact address.

6. Language Meta Tag

The Language Meta Tag is utilized by regional search engines.

7. Character Set Meta Tag

The Charset Meta Tag is used to tell the browser which character set to use.

8. Distribution Meta Tag

The Distribution Meta Tag is used to tell search engines whether the page is global or locally oriented.

9. Rating Meta Tag

The Rating Meta Tag is used to set an audience content rating.

10. Robots Meta Tag

The Robots Meta Tag is used to tell search engines whether to index and/or crawl a page or not.

11. Revisit Meta Tag

The Revisit Meta Tag is used to tell search engines when to come back next.

12. Expires Meta Tag

The Expires Meta Tag is used to tell search engines when when the page and content is no longer valid.

Solution originally posted at http://www.addme.com/meta.htm

8 Comments

  1. Helen Walker
    Posted January 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm | Permalink

    Can you PLEASE tell me WHERE to add all that? I’ve only just startet bloggin with WP. I have NO IDEA as to how I can add meta tags for my blog. I don’t know WHERE TO GO to add them.
    Most blogs that talk about blogging assume people are experts on the subject. I’m not ashemed to admitt I know ZERO about the ‘technicall’ bit of blogging. All I want if for people to read what I have to say, but it’s been a difficult tast to learn so much…

    I you can take a moment to advise I’d be most grateful.
    Thanks!

    • Gnocchi
      Posted January 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

      Hi Helen,

      It appears that you have a WordPress.com blog, that means you won’t be able to add the Meta tags yourself. You can only do this with a self-hosted WordPress site. These tags should be placed in the section, above the section. Look inside the file called header.php, however you need to have a basic knowledge of HTML and PHP in order to this.

      Best,
      Gnocchi

  2. Helen Walker
    Posted January 15, 2010 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    Hi Gnocchi,

    Thanks for your prompt reply.

    You are right, I have a WORDPRESS blog that that is not a self-hosted one. I’ve only just started blogging and don’t feel like paying to have a host site in order to get more ‘traffic’ to my weblog…Not as yet, anyway.

    When you say “Look inside the file called header.php” do you mean that I can access it even with a wordpress blog? I can’t see anything such as the header when I’m logged on. Where do I find it? Or are you refering to what I could do if I upgrade to a self-hosted blog?

    Can you please clarify?

    Thanks!

    • Gnocchi
      Posted January 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm | Permalink

      Helen, it’s what you could do if you upgrade to a self-hosted blog.

      It depends on your need, a WordPress.com blog may be just a good choice for you right now. A self-hosted one is much more powerful, and may be needed down the road.

      Gnocchi

    • Gnocchi
      Posted January 15, 2010 at 7:34 pm | Permalink

      Also, since your blog is a WordPress.com one, you shouldn’t have to worry about these Meta tags anyway. WordPress.com does a great job with search engine optimization! You blog will be well exposed if you keep blogging regularly with good content.

      Best,
      Gnocchi

  3. Helen Walker
    Posted January 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm | Permalink

    Hi there again,

    Thanks for all these useful comments.

    I agree with you that I wordpress.com is a good choise for a beginner like me…I’m still having trouble getting my blog to show on any search engine. I’ve been using tags that relate closely to the contents of my posts, but when I type them on google, my blog doesn’t even show up! I doesn’t even show up if I type the name of my blog…Unless I add my name with it.So, I’m not getting any traffic. I’m not sure if there is anything I can do to improve that…

    I like to visit other blogs (which deal with similar stuff that I write about), and tend to leave comments on posts I find interesting. Sometimes, if the article is something that I’ve also written about, I’d like to able to somehow link my comment to my own blog so other readers can visit my page…But I’m not sure if that is possible…

    Anyways, I guess I’ll have to learn a bit more on blogging!

    Cheers,
    H.

    • Gnocchi
      Posted January 18, 2010 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

      Helen,

      New blogs and sites will not get listed on Google search engines immediately. That’s why you can’t google search your blog yet. It usually takes about 2-3 weeks for Google robots to crawl your blog. Just wait a little bit, and all will be well.

      Gnocchi

  4. Posted February 17, 2010 at 5:00 pm | Permalink

    Dear Gnocchi,

    This was really helpful.

    You rule!

    Sincerely,

    ryan

