Quickbooks problem: “QuickBooks was unable to back up company file”

Problem:

I have Quickbooks Pro 2008 installed in Windows XP. I try to save a backup of my company file on local disk, and got the error message: “QuickBooks was unable to back up company file” again and again. I’m frustrated. Please, how to solve it?

Solution:

Here’s a solution: do a Windows Update.

I have Quickbooks Pro 2008 installed in Windows XP, and I got this backup problem from time to time. I read in a forum somewhere that doing a Windows Update will solve the problem.

Open Internet Explorer browser, go to Tools/ Windows Update. Try to install all the updates available (click on Custom, not Express). After installing all the updates for windows, go back to Internet Explorer and do the same steps again to make sure that everything is up to date.

Usually after I do all these updates, Quickbooks’ backup problem is gone!

It goes back from time to time, and everytime I just need to do a Windows Update again to solve it.

Hope it helps.

One Comment

  1. Misty
    Posted September 29, 2009 at 9:44 pm | Permalink

    Thank you sooo much!!! I was having the same problem and quickbooks wanted to charge me to help!!! This saved me so much time and frustration! I cannot thank you enough!

