Three problems with NextGen Gallery 1.4.3 in WordPress 2.9.1: Piclens, Upload Images, and Slideshow

Problems with NextGen Gallery 1.4.3 in WordPress 2.9

Problem #1: I installed WordPress 2.9.1, then NextGen Gallery 1.4.3, everything went well. But then when I created a gallery, the View with Piclens just didn’t work at all. Nothing happened on the screen when I clicked the link.

Well, I searched the internet, and found something about PHP 5 vs. PHP 4 (.htaccess), and other stuff. Here are the links of what I found related to this problem:

http://wordpress.org/support/topic/231419

http://www.designforunity.com/unity-blog/technical/425

So I tried to add these lines below to my .htaccess file followed a suggestion in one of the links above:

Options All -Indexes
AddType x-mapp-php5 .php
AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

Interestingly, that made the View with Piclens link work, opening up the PicLens window, but did not display any images. But at the same time, it caused other problems with browsing the site in Safari – instead of opening a page, it downloaded the page. So that wasn’t the solution! (And my hosting server actually had PHP 5 at the time!)

And then problem #2.

==========================

Problem#2: Another problem is when I uploaded images to a gallery using NextGen Gallery’s Upload Images function, I got two errors: one with the upload itself, and then with the creating thumbnail function. Got the the error messaages below:

0 picture(s) successfully added.
Directory /home/wp-content/gallery/test contains no pictures
Error : Create Image failed. Check safe mode settings.

Here’s a link of what I found from the Internet related to this problem: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/266351

==========================

Solution for Problem #1 and #2: I couldn’t find any solution from the internet that solved these two problems for me. So what I did was to go back to another site of mine that I had built a while before – also using an older version of NextGen (version 1.3.6) that was still working perfectly fine then – downloaded this version, and installed it to my new site. This worked fine, no problem with Piclens or Upload Images at all. Then I went to Dashboard, and updated NextGen Gallery plugin to its latest version (1.4.3). That update didn’t create any problem so far!

==========================

Problem #3: Show as Slideshow doesn’t work. I digged up the Internet again, and found out that I had to download a file named “imagerotator.swf”  from http://www.longtailvideo.com/players/jw-image-rotator/ (It was the whole package of JW Image Rotator 3.17, but I only needed the “imagerotator.swf” file), and upload it to the folder /wp-content/upload/. This worked fine, but then this version of the Image Rotator player had a watermark “Jplayer” that showed up every time the slideshow loaded a new image. It was annoying! To get rid of this watermark, you either have to purchase a commercial version of the player, or download an earlier version.

And that’s what I did. I downloaded an earlier version of the JW Image Rotator that I had on my other site, and uploaded it to my new site. It worked well, and no watermark!

You can download this earlier version of the JW Image Rotator here: imagerotator.swf (right click, and choose Save Linked File As)

6 Comments

  1. Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    Hi Gnocchi,

    Cool blog! You have a lot of knowledge. My name is Jeff. I am an aspiring cartoonist from out west in alberta. i accidentally ran across your blog. I am using wordpress 2.9.1 and just installed latest Next Gen 1.4.3. I was hoping to use Next Gen for my characters gallery to show their images and biographical descriptions. With my installation, the opposite occured to what you are describing…I get the pic lens and slide show links showing up but I cannot seem to figure out how to get my galleries to show up on my page…Any advice or direction? I really want to focus on illustrating my strip right now and am open to your services to get this problem solved in a prompt manner…Holla back via email to discuss further…

    * Operating System : Linux (64 Bit)
    * Server : Apache/2.2.14 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.14 OpenSSL/0.9.8l DAV/2 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635
    * Memory usage : 25.18 MByte
    * MYSQL Version : 5.1.42
    * SQL Mode : Not set
    * PHP Version : 5.2.11

  2. Posted February 9, 2010 at 1:12 am | Permalink

    I had problem 1 & 3 (maybe 2 but I didn’t check) and figured out that it was because I had my website for wordpress set with a www and the script set without.

    My setup was…
    WordPress Address: http://domainname.com/main/
    Blog Address: http://www.domainname.com

    (note mine is setup to have the wordpress files in a separate folder)

    I changed it to…
    WordPress Address: http://www.domainname.com/main/
    Blog Address: http://www.domainname.com

    and it worked!

    • Gnocchi
      Posted February 9, 2010 at 5:39 am | Permalink

      Hi Justin,

      I also had the blog settings like yours: (both without the www)
      WordPress Address: http://domainname.com/wordpress/
      Blog Address: http://domainname.com

      Could that be the cause of the problems with NextGen Gallery? I’m not sure. I will do a test on this issue again.

  3. Posted July 20, 2010 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

    Hey,
    I’ve got the issue with the watermark, which is indeed very distracting. Found your article and downloaded the linked file and put it on the server, but the watermark is still there. is there any additional thing I should do?

    • Gnocchi
      Posted July 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm | Permalink

      No, there’s nothing else you need to do. The linked file should have no watermark! (I’m still using it on my other sites.)

  4. Ger
    Posted September 6, 2010 at 1:54 am | Permalink

    Thanks thanks a lot!! : )

